Home > South Carolina > Information > States
South Carolina State Flag

State of South Carolina


South Carolina State Map Icon
Reverse coin side (tails) of the South Carolina quarter.
(United States Mint image.)
South Carolina State Quarter
The South Carolina quarter, the eighth coin released under the 50 State Quarters® Program shows key state symbols- a Palmetto Tree, the Carolina Wren and the Yellow Jessamine. An outline of South Carolina, the nickname "The Palmetto State" and a star indicating the capital, Columbia, form the quarter’s background.

The Carolina Wren, the state bird, and the Yellow Jessamine, the state flower, are native throughout South Carolina; the importance of the Palmetto Tree, the state tree, dates back to the Revolutionary War. In 1776, colonists in a small fort built of Palmetto logs successfully defeated a British fleet trying to capture Charleston Harbor. Since then, South Carolina has been called "The Palmetto State".

Quarter Specifications
Release Date: May 22, 2000
Reverse (tails) Side: The Palmetto State
Engraver: Thomas D. Rodgers
Standard Weight: 5.670g
Standard Diameter: 24.26mm (0.955 in)
Thickness: 1.75 mm
Edge Detail: Reeded
Composition: Cupro-Nickel Clad
(8.33% Nickel / 91.67% Copper)

View the rest of the State Quarters